Posted by: rojukene | mai 24, 2006

I suspect that I have a couple of melanomas

I’ve had them for about four years and I know I should go to the doctor RIGHT FUCKING NOW but
a) I absolutely cannot stand doctors
b) I’m plain afraid (I know it’s stupid, one day I’ll get over it, I hope)
c) I must know where I’m going to live in the autumn. It wouldn’t be nice if I started with one doctor here and then I’d have to move and start it all over again with another one in Tartu.. Aaargh. I don’t even want to think about it all.

Can a person die from a melanoma?

***

EDIT: Yes, one can.

Basal cell carcinoma accounts for approximately 90 percent of all skin cancers. This highly treatable cancer starts in the basal cell layer of the epidermis (the top layer of skin) and grows very slowly. Basal cell carcinoma usually appears as a small, shiny bump or nodule on the skin – mainly those areas exposed to the sun, such as the head, neck, arms, hands, and face. It commonly occurs among persons with light-colored eyes, hair, and complexion.

Squamous cell carcinoma accounts for about 20 percent of all skin cancer cases. Although more aggressive than basal cell carcinoma, this cancer is highly treatable. Squamous cell carcinoma may appear as nodules or red, scaly patches of skin, and may be found on the face, ears, lips, and mouth. However, squamous cell carcinoma can spread to other parts of the body. This type of skin cancer is usually found in fair-skinned people.

Malignant melanoma. Although less common, this type of skin cancer is the most deadly, accounting for approximately 75 percent of all skin cancer deaths. Malignant melanoma starts in the melanocytes – cells that produce pigment in the skin. Malignant melanomas usually begin as a mole that then turns cancerous. This cancer may spread quickly. Malignant melanoma most often appears on fair-skinned men and women, but persons with all skin types may be affected.

Like, fuck, my case doesn’t seem to be the first NOR the second.

Now I’m scared.

Shit, I should make sure that when Metskaplan gets back home he would tie me up and take me to the doctor. I probably wouldn’t be able to make it on my own.

Fucking phobias, go away. I don’t want to deal with you any more, you’re no excuse for NOT doing things.

Räägi mulle midagi...

Rubriigid

